Philippines’ top sports tourism destinations, events, and organizers were recognized in the prestigious 3rd Sports Tourism Awards at the Grand Wing of Resorts World Manila, Newport City, on November 26, 2019.

Running away with the top award as Destination of the Year was Clark Freeport for organizing and supporting well over 200 sporting events in the free port zone last year alone. Representing the destination was Noel Manankil, President of Clark Development Corporation who received the award from Undersecretary Benito Bengzon, Jr. of the Department of Tourism; along with Charles Lim, Founder and Chairman of the Philippines Sports Tourism Awards (PSTA) and Pauland Dumlao, President and Managing Director of Primetime as co-presenters.

The PSTA originated from the long standing Sports Tourism Forum (STF) which originated in Cebu in 2004 but moved on as an educational series on sports tourism event management supported by the Department of Tourism for event organizers, sports associations, hotels, sports clubs, and local sports and tourism offices.

Other winners of PSTA 2018 were Sunrise Events, Inc. (Event Organizer of the Year – Private), City of Dumaguete (Event Organizer of the Year – Government), Subic Bay – Ironman (Event of the Year – International), Ceres – Negros FC (Sports Association of the Year), Resorts World Manila (Charity Event of the Year), City of Davao (Destination Marketing of the Year – Ironman), Sunlife Financial (Event Sponsorship of the Year), Philippine Airlines (Airline of the Year), AA Philippines (MICE Event of the Year), Marco Polo Plaza Hotel (Hotel of the Year), Cebu Pacific – Juan for Fun (Adventure Event of the Year), Philippine Sports Commission/Philippine National Games (Event of the Year – Domestic), Panaad Park & Sports Complex, Bacolod City (Sports Venue of the Year).

Grand PSTA Winners from left to right: Lalie Novero (Sunlife Financial), Atty. Ramon O. Agregado (Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority), Maria Cecilia Bobadilla-Bitare (Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority), Agusto Lagman (Automobile Association Philippines), Ali Go (Ceres – Negros FC), Josen De Tagle (Philippine Airlines), Vicky Magsino (Marco Polo Plaza Hotel), Joee Guilas (Resorts World Manila), Mayor Felipe Antonio Remollo (City of Dumaguete), Noemi Julian (Clark Development Corporation), Undersecretary Benito Bengzon, Jr. (Department of Tourism), Princess Galura (Sunrise Events, Inc.), Roberto Zozobrado (President, PATA Philippine Chapter), Michelle Lim (Cebu Pacific), Anthony Carlo Agustin (Province of Negros Occidental), Generose Tecson (City of Davao), Charles Lim (Founder, Philippine Sports Tourism Awards), Pauland Dumlao (President, Primetime).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s